Back again!

I knew it was a long time since I’d posted a blog, but I couldn’t believe my eyes when I came to WordPress this morning and saw it was over three months! That is a long time. Looks like I have some catching up to do ๐Ÿ™‚

What have I been up to? In a sentence: being a social entrepreneur, studying, doing some research and trying to lose weight. Oh, and most recently I’ve added job hunting to the list. (Now you see why I haven’t had time to blog lately!)

Social Enterprise – Doing Defies Depression (DDD)

People who’ve read this blog before (and goodness knows whether any of you will still be reading after a silence of over three months!) will remember I ran a successful crowdfunding campaign at the end of last year, and raised AU$10,000 to kickstart a social enterprise, which is now operational. Proceeds from the online gift store (doingdefiesdepression.com.au) subsidize services for people living with depression. We held a free laughter yoga session on 31 January. which was awesome, and the instructor said she thought it may well have been the largest laughter yoga session ever held in our state – not bad for a one-off event by a start-up! We’re currently running a short story writing competition (details at http://www.doingdefiesdepression.com.au, and yes, international writers are invited to submit), are hosting a talk on “Food, Mood and Exercise” on 15 April, are starting short courses on “Living Well With Depression” in April and have events planned for Perth, Adelaide and Forster later this year.

The workload associated with DDD has been quite high, especially when combined with the other things I’m doing, so the week before last I recruited an intern to give me a hand (and hopefully pick up some kickass skills as well). Claire – or Frosty, as her friends call her – is just amazing, and I’ll introduce you to her in another post. (BTW it’s Claire’s inspiration which has me blogging again. I don’t know whether to thank her for inspiring me, or not thank her for adding something to my To Do list! Ask me again in a week’s time.)

Studying

Just call me nerd girl. My default position in life is to be engaged in some sort of study, so when I began emerging from my deep depression last year, it made sense to dip back into the academic sphere. (Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time…!) I’m completing an MBA through Torrens University. I’m learning a lot, but the best thing I’ve discovered is the opportunity to leverage assignments into opportunities to make contacts and gain experience in industry sectors I wouldn’t otherwise encounter. Which is why I’m doing some…

Research

… for a multinational based here in Melbourne. I can’t say much about it because of the NDA my study buddy Giselle and I signed, but it is terribly exciting to be doing cutting-edge research in a sector I’m passionate about, and to see that research affecting product development week by week as we progressively report results. However, along with the excitement comes a HUGE workload, so even though it’s been a great opportunity, I’ll be glad to submit the final report in a few weeks’ time!

Losing Weight

Again, people who’ve been reading this blog for a while may recall this has been a struggle for agesย – since I put on all those kg’s while in and out of hospital in 2013. I started working with a nutritionist back in November, and we came up with an eating plan which means I am not always hungry. (Some medication I take is known for increasing appetite, so not being hungry all the time is a blessed relief.) However, I must admit that when I’m stressed, I don’t get my daily dose of exercise and I slip off the eating plan, which isn’t good. Weight loss is happening, but very slowly!

Job Hunting

You know what? I’m working bloody hard: doing good stuff with DDD, helping an Australian business with its product development, supervising an intern – why can’t someone just give me money for all the good that I do?! But no, apparently the universe doesn’t work like that, so I’m in need of a boring, traditional, money-coming-in job. So if you know anyone who’d like to pay me something for all the awesome stuff I can do, just holler!

Well, that’s what’s been going on in my world. I do hope you’ve all been keeping well, and I’ll be doing the rounds to catch up with people’s news over the next few days.

Bye for now!

4 Comments

Filed under Personal, Up

4 responses to “Back again!

  1. Wow, that is one full plate! I hope you also take time just for you. You deserve it. xx

    Like

    • Thank you so much, my sister ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so much better at taking care of myself than I used to be. Putting on the intern is an example of that. Still, I am juggling a huge workload, so self-care remains a high priority! Thank you for dropping by XOXO

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s so inspirational to read how you are getting back into the swing of things. I’m hoping I can be a part of society again, and stop being a hermit. I want to study too in the future (sociology), find part time work and go regularly to the gym. I hope that I can overcome my fears like you seem to be doing.

    Like

    • Honestly, there were many months when I never thought I would be able to re-engage with society the way I am now: my depression was so very, very deep that I thought I’d never be free of it.
      However, I got here! ๐Ÿ™‚ And there’s nothing particularly special about me. I mean, yes, I’m uniquely myself and there isn’t another of me out there, but I don’t have any superpowers; so if I can crawl out from under the depression boulder, anyone else can, too ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks so much for dropping by. X

      Like

So, what do you think?

