Dreaming of Icecream

My father loves icecream. I think it’s partly a generational thing – it was such a treat for him, as a kid, that it’s secured a special place in his gastronomical heart.

Icecream isn’t top of my crave list, though lately I must admit I’ve been thinking about it. I don’t feel compelled to go out and buy any; I think it’s just that winter has well and truly set in here, all blustery and cold, and icecream is such a summery treat.

Speaking of blustery and cold: my state hasย set some sort of PB this week for weather warnings. I can’t remember the details, but it certainly has been windy and wet! It reminds me of the town I grew up in. Winters there were bitter; in fact, the winter after we left, things got so cold that the old folk were evacuated to warmer climes … or something like that. It wasย someย time ago.

In the CBD on Tuesday, walking across the Yarra River, I got a taste of that driving, freezing wind and the good old horizontal rain which is so useful for blowing cobwebs away (and umbrellas, and – as I saw, glancing down – a heavy gold earring from an unfortunate pedestrian). Perhaps it was experiencing that same weather, so familiar to me from childhood, which has me dreaming of icecream.

Well, I think I might stop writing now. I don’t want to start fixating on icecream, and possibly craving it: I have bigger problems to worry about. My therapist is about to depart for an extended break. We have a session today, another on Monday, then I won’t see him for five weeks. Five weeks! I only realized this last night. He’s actually only going away for four and a half weeks, but checking in my diary, I saw that because of timing, there would be five weeks between Monday’s appointment and our next.

I can handle this. I know I can. In fact, I’m going to blitz it. (Keep up that positive self-talk, DB.) I’m going to use this time to live mindfully, notice when I miss him and the circumstances surrounding that sensation, and generally being awesome.

And rewarding myself with icecream occasionally, because sometimes Dad knows best.

ice cream

17 Comments

Filed under Up

17 responses to “Dreaming of Icecream

  1. Oh no! I’ve been resisting the pull of ice cream all night and now I see this! Luckily it’s much too late to go get some. Phew! I am with you on therapists on vacation. I won’t be able to see my psychiatrist until mid-August!

    Like

  2. It was 6 degrees when I got up this morning! I’m in NSW and we’ve had the arctic winds too. Even sitting here with many layers on, ice cream is sounding pretty good.
    Five weeks will pass quickly, just think of how fast the year has gone by already! That might not help so much short term but I am sure you will be okay. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Ice cream might help your sore throat… ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you feel better soon! And that the five weeks between therapy appts passes quickly. I can see how that would be unsettling. Hopefully you can put some specific plans in place to compensate for the therapist support that you’ll be missing.

    Like

  4. Last year, we visited Melbourne and Mt Buller. Mt Buller was beautiful. It was sunny and the snow was freezing but the day was beautiful and then we go back to our motel in Melbourne and froze our butts off. The wind howls through those streets. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I can understand you not wanting ice cream on those kind of days but hey, you need to treat yourself from time to time.

    Like

    • Heading in to those wind-howled streets in half an hour … lunch with my stepson and his new girlfriend. Apart from the weather, it should be good. I must admit I opted out of attending the footy game afterwards! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Continuing our conversation from another thread … I taught at a 1800 student school once. It was ridiculously huge. It lead to very silly discipline problems: a boy threw a stone at a librarian on a sports day, and she couldn’t identify him. What was incredible was the way the staff managed to group themselves into very supportive clusters; well, that was what I experienced, in my department. In many ways the school was well run, compared to others I’ve worked in.

      Like

      • I think there are problems with discipline at this school at times also. My daughter did some prac teaching there (which was funny because it is the school she also went to as a student) and I have friends who work at the school. As with any school there are going to be problems but I’m lucky the Tween has a good friend network so far.
        How did you cope with the howling winds?

        Like

      • Lunch was wonderful, the weather less so, and my increasingly adverse reaction to the steroids less so again…

        Like

      • Oh no. Still you don’t have too many days left of them do you? I hope the throat is healing though.

        Like

      • Throat no better. Feeling v bad, very not myself, head-wise. Called nurse 5:15, she said get to a dr within 4 hours, decided an ER after a Saturday night wasn’t the place for me, am waiting for my pharmacy to open. They’ll give good advice.

        Will get through. Very hard.

        Like

      • You poor thing. Are there no 24 hour clinics in your area then?

        Like

So, what do you think?

