A Night Out

My husband and I went out for dinner last night, and we had fun.

It’s a simple statement, isn’t it? Something so ordinary, so usual … but not for us. Not for quite a while.

We haven’t been able to go out for dinner, because we’ve been living under such strict financial constraints; and while we’ve had fun, at times, it’s always been underpinned byΒ money stress.

Yesterday I had some good news. An insurance company is going to settle a claim in my favour. I had to check that I’d heard my case manager correctly: “So, does this mean I can relax and be happy?” and she laughed: “Yes, it does.”

It’s not like we won the lottery – we’re not talking a huge amount of money, here. However, it will take the pressure off for a while. It means I can take time to recover instead of feeling stressed about not working.

So: we went out to dinner to celebrate, we held hands across the table, we laughed as we drove home, and we had fun.

I am happy.


 

I recently read thisΒ post on signs of a healthy relationship. I forwarded it to my husband with the note: “I think we scored 10/10!” He agreed, but thought we could work on the fun part – though at the time he also said “It’s not surprising we’re not having much fun at the moment.” Money doesn’t make you happy, but not having money and the implications of that can most certainly contribute to making you less happy. Your thoughts?

Hope ... a door opens

Hope … a door opens

31 Comments

Filed under Up

31 responses to “A Night Out

  1. congratulations on getting your claim successfully settled at last. A lack of money can definitely be stressful.

    Like

  2. This post makes me smile. I’m so glad that you had a nice evening out with your husband. And the news about your insurance claim – this is an issue that’s been weighing on you for months, yes? What a relief to have that finally resolved!!

    Enjoy the “I am happy” part. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Hurray! I am so happy the claim has finally been settled in your favour. A night out with your husband sounds like a great way to celebrate. Now that finances are more stable you can really focus on you! I completely agree with your statement on finances. Money doesn’t make you happy, but lack of all financial stability definitely made me miserable!
    I’m so glad you are feeling happy today. xx

    Like

  4. allbrisafam

    Glad everything when great

    Like

  5. I’m happy for you. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Woo! Congratulations on getting that darn claim finally worked out! AND on being able to rest assured now! πŸ˜€ That is totally exciting, so happy for you!

    As for thoughts – those nights out are so needed in a relationship… especially when both are stressed. Brad and I are going out to a drag queen performance to support one of our friends. Totally excited about it, especially since there’s no cover charge. Just need a bunch of singles (hehe).

    But I’m a little emotionally tired from another highly charged “discussion” today. So more thoughts about this later. Just wanted to give you the congrats, at least. ❀

    Like

  7. eddieredvine

    I can’t remember who said it but it seems fitting. Money doesn’t make you happy but it’s much more comfortable to cry in a Mercedes than on a bike.

    I know how you feel with the financial strain. It isn’t a pleasant situation.

    congrats on the successful claim though.

    ***hugs***

    Xxx

    Like

    • Thank you so much! There was never any doubt that it was a ‘morally correct’ claim, but you know what insurance companies can be like. Thank you for celebrating with me πŸ™‚

      Like

      • eddieredvine

        Morally correct never really comes into It with insurance unfortunately. I’m still awaiting the result of my ‘morally correct’ benefits appeal…

        Like

      • Believe me, I know 😦 The heartache is almost unbearable, isn’t it? That level of uncertainty … even on Tuesday, they told me there was another search they had to run, and if that came back with the ‘wrong’ result (my word, not theirs) the claim would be declined. At that late stage! My story has had a happy ending; I hope yours does too. It took a lot of persistence on my part, taking upon myself the role of chasing up people, paperwork and information (even though no-one suggested I do so) and just staying in touch with whoever was handling the claim at that moment. I know you’re working towards something completely different, though, so these techniques might not be relevant to you. Good luck again!

        Like

      • eddieredvine

        It seems borderline harassment in the most polite manner possible is my strategy… hehe xxx

        Like

      • πŸ˜‰ Best time to catch an insurance case worker? 9:04AM, before they’re enmeshed in someone else’s problem but after they’ve had time to grab a coffee! lol

        Like

  8. Enjoy your modest windfall, your victory. Celebrate with that romantic dinner. Savor the few luxuries you can enjoy.

    Like

  9. Jay

    This post made me really happy… your relief and joy are infectious! Sometimes it feels like things rarely ever go in our favour and that everything is a fight… a fight for what is yours, a fight for dignity, a fight for peace of mind. If only it were seamless and effortless. But after a particularly trying 2013, in which I am only now starting to see the light, I understand that lessons are learned in adversity. So perhaps these fights are integral to keeping us aware of what is important in our lives. If we never have to fight for something, how do we know what to value. x

    Like

  10. πŸ™‚ This makes me smile. I am so happy for you. And I hope much more of these moments will happen πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. rod

    I am happy for you.

    Like

  12. I agree with the not having money thing that can add extra pressure. The GG is beginning to stress about me leaving work now.
    I am so pleased that everything came through for you and some of the pressure has eased.

    Like

    • We have yet to see the money, but yes, some of the burden is certainly lifted, and that feels GREAT! πŸ™‚

      You know you made the right decision, leaving that job. I can’t wait to see what comes up for you next X

      Like

      • Thank you. But I must admit I am beginning to worry myself.
        I heard the latest rumour on the workplace rumour mill yesterday. Apparently I am leaving work to “find myself”. I can’t tell you how much mileage some of my ‘wittier’ colleagues are getting out of that one with talk of giving me maps and compasses as parting gifts. lol

        Like

      • Ah, let them talk! I detect an element of envy in anyone who says another person is going off to “find themselves”. Anyone who’s actually going to do the finding generally has a more concrete idea of what they’re going to do, for example, travel; write; go on retreat; spend more time with family – all good and desirable things by most standards. “Find themselves” is almost derogatory in contrast, and where I hear derogatory I frequently infer envy. That’s just my first impression, though πŸ™‚

        Like

      • I tend to agree. I’ve had my share of envious comments. lol

        Like

So, what do you think?

