Life is a salad bar, and you’ve got a lot of your plate, man

512px-Salad_bar-02

By Helder Ribeiro from Campinas, Brazil (img_1386) [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Or so said the guitar-strumming therapist from “The Millers”.

This afternoon, it’s time to practise all those stress-release techniques I’ve been perfecting. Here’s to a few hours of:

  • Realizing these stressors will pass: My therapist will come back from leave; the portentous phone call will come; the tide will turn.  
  • Directing my thoughts: There are things in life we can control, and things we can’t. There’s no point dwelling on those we can’t. (I need to check that I’m not avoiding difficult topics, but I’ve run the scan, and today’s stressors are most certainly un-dwellable.)
  • Ditching the diet: Yes, I am trying to lose weight, but weight loss is a marathon, not a sprint. Furthermore, studies have shown that willpower is a commodity which decreases as the day progresses. I’m going to put my efforts into controlling my thoughts, not controlling my calorie intake.
  • Relishing small pleasures: The feel of fur-lined slippers; the comfort of pappy TV comedy; the warmth of tea crossing my tongue.

How do you cope when there’s a lot on your plate?

 

4 Comments

Filed under Down

4 responses to “Life is a salad bar, and you’ve got a lot of your plate, man

  1. wordsthatscream

    I have to admit, I’ve been struggling recently. Talking about it with my partner only seems to make me more aware of and insecure about my problems, though he always wants to know what’s wrong. I’m also really bad at keeping things in, it makes my symptoms and thoughts a billion times worse. I guess I need to find the balance and develop some better mechanisms. Lately exercise and meditation have been difficult as I’m often to anxious or down to find the motivation.

    Like

  2. Sometimes I shift from any long-term view to a moment-by-moment approach. That doesn’t work in all situations, i.e. some long term things just need to get done, but often it’s the long view that only increases my anxieties. I’m not explaining this well but basically there are times when I can only think about what needs to be done in the next hour, or the next minute, and put on hold thoughts of anything else.

    Like

    • Yes! I call this “keeping the horizon close”. I think it’s quite sensible. We need to look at the big picture occasionally, but not live looking there if it’s too anxiety-provoking.

      Like

So, what do you think?

