Exercise Mini-challenge

I’ve set myself a SMART goal this week: to go lap swimming for half an hour each weekday at the local pool. (And yes, it is winter, but I have the option of an indoor or outdoor pool – though I’m planningย to Polar Bear it out and attempt the bracing option!)

I know exercise is absolutely necessary in supporting my mood, but I also find mini-challenges easier to fulfill at this stage. What makes this a SMART goal? It’s:

Specific – I’ve outlined exactly what I want to achieve

Measurable – A definite, quantified number has been set

Achievable – I have the time and resources to do this; it’s also got an action-oriented verb (“go lap swimming”)

Realistic and Relevant – Again, I can manage 30 minutes per day this week, and it’s something I really want to do, as exercise is so important to my mood

Time-bound – it has a definite start time (today) and endpoint (Friday).

The challenges will be getting going early enough each day to beat the rush at the pool, and also overcoming my body-image related reluctance to be seen in bathers – I’m still carrying many extra kilos from last year. (Sigh.)

Who knows? It may evolve into a SMARTER goal, one which I Evaluate and Re-Evaluate afterwards, as the cycle continues! … but I do believe in ‘keeping the horizon close’ when dealing with exercise mini-challenges.

OK, it’s time to back away from the computer, get ready and step out into the brisk morning coolness to brave the waters … wish me luck. Ah, it’s raining. Excellent; I’ll arrive at the pool pre-moistened!

Have you set yourself an exercise mini-challenge (or maxi-challenge!) lately? How did it pan out for you?

Rain

21 Comments

Filed under Up

21 responses to “Exercise Mini-challenge

  1. Once you’re in the pool nobody can see your body too much anyway. Don’t stress it. We have nowhere to swim around here now that the pool has closed until later in the year. Oh. That’s right I have a pool in my backyard but not tempting the frigidity of that one lol

    Like

    • Ha ha! Yes, you’re right. When I was swimming regularly last year a woman actually complimented me on my swimming suit, even though I was more heavy than I am now. I sort of think that if the first thing she thought of when she looked at me was “wow, look at the whale” she may not have commented on my appearance, even if the comment was directed to my clothing!

      Like

    • Sue! Sue!! I did it!!! Yesterday I went in without boardies. I was inspired by your comment. It was a big step for me, but I did it, which means freer swimming from now on. Yay!

      Like

  2. I did a SWOT analysis and SMART objectives are in order for me. I am inspired now.

    Like

  3. Cal

    Yay! I love swimming. The pool closest to my house has finally opened up again, and I’m going to walk there the first day it’s not raining. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Awesome! It was really great, this morning. The cold air above and the heated water beneath. There was this big fat man sharing the lane, but that’s another story, hee hee

      Like

  4. Yay! Good luck on your mini challenge! I hope you’ll inspire me to get back to the pool. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. eddieredvine

    My physiotherapist has me making smart goals ๐Ÿ™‚ I hadn’t been given them before but it’s kinda what I used (and still use) to tame my issues with food ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope your dip was bracing and awesome x

    Like

    • Thanks Eddie! I’m pleased they work so well for you.

      The swim itself was really nice. The water was heated (but not warm to the point of yuckiness) so it was warm below and cool above. I must admit I’ve woken up this morning feeling *quite* disinclined to go out, but that’s the point of making these mini-challenges public – holds me accountable! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  6. I love the idea of a SMART goal. My husband used to use that all the time in his work and I kind of poked fun at it. ๐Ÿ™‚ But, you’ve given me a different perspective here. With exercise I tend to be either all in (I’m going to work out every day for the next month!!!!) or all out (It’s been three weeks since I’ve worked out and I feel too out of shape to do anything). The SMART approach sounds like it would be much more effective.

    Like

    • It worked for me yesterday! However, I’ve woken up this morning feeling *most* disinclined to go out into the cold. So I am watching something I recorded last night and “sneaking up on myself” by gradually getting changed, packing the bag, etc … I’ll be out the door before I’m aware of what’s going on, ho ho ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  7. Pingback: Sneaking Up On Oneself! | In & Out, Up & Down: Dysthymia Bree's Musings On Mental Health and Psychiatric Wards

  8. I’m a sporadic exerciser. I always try, and life often gets in the way. No excuses…I am taking your mini-challenge. Going to exercise every day this week. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Stuff that’s true | In & Out, Up & Down: Dysthymia Bree's Musings On Mental Health and Psychiatric Wards

So, what do you think?

