Rain!!!

It’s been raining almost 24 hours! It’s a beautiful, gentle, soaking rain, and already the soil is damp to a few centimetres deep.

In this picture, you can see some remaining damage from the searing heat my poor garden had to endure a few weeks back. The burnt patches on the leaves, which are particularly visible centre and top right, look particularly painful among the raindrops:

Burnt Leave in Rain

To me, rain means renewal, refreshment, and an opportunity for growth. I always find the first “good rain” of the year exciting. (To me, a “good rain” is slow and steady, gently replenishing the earth, as opposed to heavy, eroding and otherwise potentially harmful.)

This week is an exciting week, because I made a big decision – to leave the DBT group I’d been part of for a few months. I want to talk about that decision in detail another time, because I have a lot to say about it, but it seems timely that the rain should start falling during this week, when my life is being cleansed of something which was not helping me to flourish.

In the meantime, I’ll finish breakfast and enjoy the sound of raindrops on the roof.

Rain

 

19 Comments

Filed under Up

19 responses to “Rain!!!

  1. Cal

    Us too! It rained for two days in Melbourne πŸ™‚ I love the rain, and best of all I love going to bed when it’s raining and hearing the water on the roof from my loft. Hope your garden appreciates it!

    Like

  2. Nothing like the sound of gentle rain on the roof.

    Like

  3. I’m glad for you that you made a decision about group therapy. Enjoy the rain – water symbolizes so many things!

    Like

  4. Take the rain and keep it, please πŸ˜› . Living in Seattle means rain/drizzle/clouds for 10 out of 12 months of the year, it’s so gloomy and gross.

    Like

  5. I missed reading your blogs. πŸ™‚

    I like that you can see rain that way, it can be too easy to see it as your typical “rainy day,” ya know? Well done on that. And once again, way to go on being assertive by leaving the DBT that was bothering you so much.

    I’m in a DBT-type group myself now. First time ever. I’m having some issues with their explicit religiosity… but so far it hasn’t been intrusive yet. (See the post I’m going to make soon on Transgender though…. ugh) Hopefully, it will go better. And better for you too!

    Again, so glad to know you DB. ❀ Keep rockin', way to be present by listening to those rain drops. Been struggling to stop and do that myself. Thanks for reminding me to.

    Like

    • Ah, thank you so much! ❀

      I hope you get a lot out of your DBT group. It wasn't the content per se which I objected to, but its delivery. Still, I bought a book I can work through, and I have my therapist I can talk the skills over with and see how they play out in my life.

      All good πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. I love the rain, when I am all cosy warm inside! Nothing like it! I’m interested in your experience of DBT group. Looking forward to reading more from you! XX

    Like

  7. eddieredvine

    You are sounding wonderfully positive. I am so happy for you ❀
    I love to walk in the rain. I often find if it hasn't rained for a while I get quite a relentless headache until the storm breaks. xxx

    Like

So, what do you think?

