Prometheus Unbound: A personal credo

To suffer woes which Hope thinks infinite;
To forgive wrongs darker than death or night;
To defy Power, which seems omnipotent;
To love, and bear; to hope till Hope creates
From its own wreck the thing it contemplates;
Neither to change, nor falter, nor repent;
This, like thy glory, Titan, is to be
Good, great and joyous, beautiful and free;
This is alone Life, Joy, Empire, and Victory.

The above are the closing lines of Shelley’s epic poem, Prometheus Unbound. I adopted them as a sort of personal creed some years ago, when it became obvious that mental illness was going to be a major factor in my life, going forward.

This week, I again pick up the challenge of living a life which is good, great, joyous, beautiful and free – even though I know there will be moments when hope seems hopeless, the power of my illness seems omnipotent, and I am called upon to forgive “wrongs darker than death or night”.

Do you have a personal credo by which you live, or aspire to live?

File:Percy Bysshe Shelley by Alfred Clint crop.jpg

Percy Bysshe Shelley by Alfred Clint

9 Comments

Filed under Up

9 responses to “Prometheus Unbound: A personal credo

  1. Yes “Everything I have learned about life can be summed up in three words – it goes on”. 🙂

    Like

  2. I don’t really live by anything. Maybe that’s the problem.

    Like

  3. I love that, so beautiful!! 🙂
    One of my favourite quotes is from Brian Molko:
    “I’m not religious but I’m definitely very spiritual person. I’ve always said that religion is for people who are scared of ending up in hell. Spirituality is for those who’ve already been there.”
    I don’t know if it’s a credo, but it sums up what I believe quite nicely.

    Like

So, what do you think?

