My Favourite Morning of the Year

Christmas? Easter? Birthday? Anniversary? No, the day the clocks go back! I just love that extra hour of sleep. I love the fact that for the next week, every morning I’ll feel as though I’ve slept in. I love the fact that from now on, I’ll be getting up in light instead of darkness (well, until the middle of winter, anyway).

This weekend always feels like a ‘bonus’ weekend: something for nothing; an extra treat; a time for optimism. Knowing that the week ahead is going to feel easier, I am inevitablyย relaxed on this weekend – whether I’m particularly unwell (depressed and anxious) or not.

This year, it seems especially auspicious that the clocks go back on the night of the day I firstย felt happy in a long time. Could I be about to turn a corner? Could I be granted a reprieve from the worst of my symptoms for a while? Wow (she said, getting waaaay ahead of herself) – could I even think about working again?

All these questions will be answered in time. For now, I’m just revelling in the fact that I feel great. Rested, optimistic, enthusiastic, and strong.

Thank you, daylight savings. You did not die in vain.

 

Daylight SavingsPicture Credit:ย http://australia.gov.au/about-australia/our-country/time

 

 

17 Comments

Filed under Up

17 responses to “My Favourite Morning of the Year

  1. No daylight savings where I live so it doesn’t bother me. Glad you got an extra hour in bed this morning though.

    Like

  2. Yes, how great is it? I love this side of daylight saving! I hate when the clocks goes forward though.

    Like

  3. ocdjm

    That’s awesome. Here in Arizona we don’t switch our clocks which is OK because I don’t usually sleep well.

    Like

  4. So glad you are feeling good! In our part of the world we just lost an hour of sleep a few weeks ago. Hate that. But this is the way of life. Good and bad.

    Like

  5. Im glad you are feeling happy. I love that extra hour of sleep, too bad I’m north of the equator and we had the leap forward time change a few weeks ago. btw I nominated you for the Quartlet of Radiance award: http://tipsofevergreens.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/quartlet-of-radiance-what/

    Like

  6. Pingback: Upcycling, two ways | In & Out, Up & Down: Dysthymia Bree's Musings On Mental Health and Psychiatric Wards

  7. We lost an hour of sleep last weekend due to this, and it’s brighter here. Spring is upon us here in sweden. ๐Ÿ™‚ Although I prefer the dark. Happy that you’re up for some “time of optimism”, that is always a very good thing ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

So, what do you think?

