That feeling …

… as though your brain’s been soaked in curdled goat’s milk, run through a blender and squished back into your cranium.

It’s not really how you expect to feel on a Sunday afternoon, is it? Well, not if you’re a teetotaler like me! I remember other Sunday afternoons, many summers ago … but those are stories of days long past.

No, today I am just good old brain-dead. Tired. Spent. Exhausted. Burnt out.

I can’t give you a good reason why, either, which is annoying! OK, I didn’t sleep terribly well last night, but the rest of the day has been fairly cruisy: ironing, phone calls, catching up on some TV, visiting a relative (and forgetting to take the Β microwave we were passing on), sorting out my diary for the week. All quite pleasant, kindly, easy.

The temptation is to say: “Well, that’s what depressed mind/brain/body matrices do: feel tired at the drop of a hat!” and perhaps that is what’s going on. On the other hand, it could be that the various stresses of the past month have caught up with me. I don’t want to overpathologize things.

So, Dr Dysthymia Bree, what will you prescribe for yourself?

  • plenty of water and some vitamin C, just in case a virus is trying to catch me unawares
  • good food
  • making sure that I’m prepared for tomorrow, so I can go to bed with a peaceful mind, and Β – of course! –
  • some good, calming TV!

All good, my friends. May your Sunday be refreshing and may your brains steer clear of goat’s milk.

18 Comments

Filed under Down

18 responses to “That feeling …

  1. I hope you feel better tomorrow.:)

    Like

    • Me too! I think I will. A good night’s rest will work wonders. (Unfortunately I’m out of sleeping tablets, not that I’ve needed them lately, but this evening I feel “overtired”, you know?)

      Like

  2. Assuming your previous week was stressful, it is not surprising at all that you dropped today – a day of relaxing. After stress, the body does not simply shut off the hormones and adrenaline, no they stick around for awhile. If you then get into a relaxing mode, your body will do the shut down thing and there will be no stress hormones and adrenaline to balance it out. In short, you drop. Going from high performance race car to bicycle quickly will cause a crash. It’s not that you did nothing stressful, it’s that you relaxed while your body is still just shutting down all the high performance equipment and shifting into repair mode. Energy that was devoted to keeping the high performance you running now goes to other parts of your body that need it during repair cycles (normally when you sleep) so your body will be sluggish and tired feeling and your brain may even become fuzzy as in not being able to focus.

    Stress is a killer. Look at this time of drop as a way for your body to defend against stress, rebuild and prepare for the next bout of stress.

    Like

    • Thank you so much!!! I really appreciate that. So my plan of drinking lots of water, taking in good nutrition, etc really was the right recipe – to give my body the things it needs to repair? I love it when intuition is confirmed by science. Thanks again XXX

      Like

  3. You had a really stressful week and mushy brain syndrome tends to arrive at that point you start to relax. Similar to getting ill as soon as you take a holiday from work. Recognise it as a positive sign and reminder from yourself to go a little bit easy πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you so much Ellie! I will indeed try to take this week a bit easier … it would help if good old life stopped lobbing hand grenades my way πŸ™‚ Breathe, accept, keep moving forward!

      Like

  4. Lavender bath and tea in bed is a good cure for soup brain πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

    • I’m just up!!! After a very long night’s sleep, hooray! Right now I’m enjoying my first cup of tea, and have some lavendar soap which I can use in my shower this morning. Thank you so much. xx

      Like

  5. Pamper yourself. Do things that make you feel comfortable or glamorous or feed your inner child. When you’re drinking the water, toast every positive element or person in your life. Accept the fact that you are a unique human being,a one-of-a-kind, in this world and be grateful for it. I’m sending you beautiful thoughts on which to float.

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I am newly awake after a long night’s sleep and mindfully drinking my first cup of tea. It’s a little early to know how the day will progress, but I’m certain I have time to take advantage of your wisdom. Thank you

      Like

  6. Try some Vitamin B as well. That might help πŸ™‚

    Like

So, what do you think?

