You may not be where you want to be

There’s a lot of gumph on Facebook (oh yes, that’s a technical term) but sometimes you come across a little gem which sticks with you. Here’s something I read last week:

You may not be where you want to be yet, but if you think about it, you’re no longer where you once were …

At first, I read it as a statement of hope. Then I read it again, and a poignant sadness descended. “You’re no longer where you once were.” That’s so true, and so sad.

I’m no longer financially independent. I’ve put on a lot of weight. I spend a lot of time isolated, at home, and I avoid contacting old friends because I don’t want to explain my current situation. I don’t sing anymore. I often feel very sad, and am vulnerable to mood dips. I could go on, but I won’t.

So I have a choice, don’t I? I may continue as I am, or I may make a list of those things which my mental illness have robbed me of, and begin taking positive action towards restoring them.

One of those things sounds far better than the other!

*    *    *

A few of us have started a private support group on Facebook. If you’re interested, check out the info under the “Facebook Support Group” tab on my home page. xx DB

18 Comments

Filed under Out

18 responses to “You may not be where you want to be

  1. Great post. Sometimes the simplistic sayings put things in the best light. Which always pisses me off for not thinking of it first.

    Like

  2. Bless you. I love the quote. It is perhaps only sad when you look at it from a long term perspective. Why not look at it day by day or week by week. You’re no longer where you yesterday or last week. it perhaps doesn’t seem so bad then.

    Like

  3. Good point. I think I’ll start with the day by day option!

    Like

  4. Oh wow! I used to walk around singing all the time but I don’t any longer. I don’t know if my vocal chords would even know what to do these days.

    Like

  5. I’m not sure which end of that is best for me. i have days where I vacillate between the two…. I’m afraid it’s a sliding scale for me most of the time.

    Like

  6. Cal

    I’ve really been enjoying reading your blog posts, and have so much admiration for yout ability to write even when you feel crappy. A support group might be really nice, I’ll check that out 🙂

    Like

  7. I think the key word in that quote is YET. “You may not be where you want to be…YET…” It suggests that you’re still moving, still plugging away, one day at a time. Some days even one minute at a time, but it’s potentially forward progress nonetheless. I really like the quote – today. Tomorrow might be a different story, but let’s stick with today, shall we?

    Like

So, what do you think?

