Saturday’s child works hard for a living

I felt like writing something, but I didn’t know what to write. I remembered that old nursery rhyme, the one that starts: “Monday’s child is fair of face”. I thought, what does it say about Saturday’s child?

Apparently, “Saturday’s child works hard for a living” is the line from the most common version, according to Wikipedia.

Hmm.

I don’t work right now, I can’t work right now, but there are times when I work hard to stay living: think that counts?

I do.

To me, working hard to stay living means being fastidious about your medications, disciplined about exercise, vigilant about your thought patterns, proactive in your social life, appreciative of the positives which come your way, grateful for small mercies and open during therapy.

I feel that I’ve left some things off the list. What would you add?

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Saturday’s child works hard for a living

  1. I’d add ” be logical about your irrational thoughts so they don’t get the better of you”

    Like

  2. I think you covered it pretty well.

    Like

  3. freddy

    Living in the moment is important as well, the good moments, at any rate.

    Like

  4. I’ve had a real struggle with working over the last eight years. I get frustrated that my anxiety has gotten in my way of doing it. But I tell myself “baby steps”. First I have to take care of me, and feel safe and comfortable with myself then with friends and then with strangers. It’s a journey!

    Like

  5. Finding time/ways to step outside yourself and focus on the bigger picture of life.

    Like

  6. Can’t believe I left “Write for WordPress and hang out with the WordPress community” off my list!

    Like

  7. fatimaphat

    I think equal parts of ‘yay’ and ‘boo’ for the protestant work ethic. Which is a side issue, I realise. So double ‘yays’ for the comment from MindfuLust about finding time/ways to step outside yourself and focus on the bigger picture of life.

    Like

    • Yes – it’s difficult, isn’t it? I like to joke that we’ve got a double whammy of tribal guilts living in my place: the Protestant work ethic on my side, and good old Catholic guilt on his – though neither of us practice the faith of our forebears any more, we are both conscientious people by nature, and still carry the “tribal guilt” of our backgrounds! Either way, it makes it hard to take time off work.

      Like

  8. Perserverance and stamina

    Like

So, what do you think?

