Punching Through

Yes, I know we usually talk of “punching on” at the start of a work day and “punching off” at the end, but today my hope is to “punch through”  – smashing some personal barriers as I do so.

It’s been a tough week, but life rolls on, and therefore so do I. I have to admit it’s been quite difficult. When things get rough like this, I find it very hard to get things done. It actually hurts to try and do stuff! I don’t know how else to describe it. Today I must submit some stuff to the tax office (thankfully you can do it online). This week there were two other things I really wanted to get done. Today’s Friday, so I’d better hustle! This is what I mean by punching through: I want to weather the pain and get these three things done. I want to smash these goals, like words written on those board things that martial arts people crack in half. (I feel like Eye of the Tiger should be playing in the background …)

I got a lot of inspiration from my fitness session yesterday. We did boxing: yay! Punching things! Letting out some rage! I enjoyed it very, very much. I’ll be the first to admit that technique gave way to power, but all’s fair in socially validated anger-diffusing violence. My only problem is that I always do 1km on the rowing machines at the start of each session, and I’m expected to improve my time each session. Yesterday I was so adrenaline-fuelled that I smashed 12 seconds off my PB. Oops: that’s going to be difficult to maintain …

So the tone of today will be suck-it-up time, stop-procrastinating time, get-it-done time. Think I can do it? I do.

6 Comments

Filed under Up

6 responses to “Punching Through

  1. All I can say is TGIF!!

    Like

  2. O to the M to the G….You are too funny!!! I would love to see you in your boxing class, and taking off on your rowing machine!!! Proud of you. You go girl!!!

    Like

  3. Everything’s goin to be fine. You can do it.

    Like

So, what do you think?

