It’s Gratitude List Time!

Even though my day is just starting (0715) I already have so much to be grateful for:

  • a good night’s sleep – even untroubled by bad dreams!
  • waking to find another batch of kind, supportive messages waiting for me on WordPress – yay! You’re awesome, thank you so much
  • my recalcitrant medications bloke finally completed the paperwork I’ve been waiting for since, oh, about halfway through last year
  • the knowledge that a friend who’s been in hospital for a while will be going home later this week! The battle’s been fought, and won
  • this morning’s engagement cancelled … so I have time to work through my therbligs! Yay! And also engage in some extra, much-needed self-care …
  • … and some digging! I do love digging. Great workout for most of the body, and there’s going to be the joy of a new line of creepers planted, and I think today may be the day I declare the new bed to be “open for business” after many weeks of preparation. What a wonderful feeling, to turn rocky, packed soil into a fertile growing space.

I’m continuing to work through the other big stuff which has been going on lately. It’s nice to wake up and feel normal, instead of numb (early days yet, but it’s still nice while it lasts).

When your morning rolls round (whenever that may be!) I hope you wake feeling as optimistic as I do.

 

20 Comments

Filed under Up

20 responses to “It’s Gratitude List Time!

  1. Some really positive stuff written here. i like it!

    Like

  2. hellokalykitty

    You are much stronger than you give yourself credit for love bug πŸ™‚ Your blog is inspiring to me because you are honest about your struggles and how you deal with them. You may fall down but you keep going even when you have to crawl πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. DB – your blog IS inspirational – you are stronger than you know!

    Like

  4. Corr Autore

    That’s a great list to be thankful for. I now have something new to look into, Therblig! I also look forward to my nightmares. They’re the only dreams I remember and they make for great stories to write out.
    It’s good news that your friend is recovering from whatever is going on. I’m used to the hospital scene by now because of my late mother always going in there from smoking too much. Life is precious, so here’s hoping that you and your friend, as well as everyone else who matters, can be a good support group.

    Like

    • Thanks. You probably aren’t aware of this, being new to my blog, but I have one friend in a psychiatric clinic just finishing her first course of ECT, which has been very difficult, and am mourning the death of my best friend’s brother, who suicided on Saturday morning. Times are tough. My nightmares are not pleasant. But then, there’s always tea.

      Like

      • Corr Autore

        Tea does help, but being present helps even more. Mental health can be worked out, to an extent, with the help of those who care.
        Suicide, unfortunately, is a permanent solution to a temporary problem, but it is best to try and move on to try and be there for those who are still alive who need help. Remember those who are gone with fond memories, but don’t get caught up in the past too much. Memories do not hold true towards making a better future if you dwell on them for too long.
        But I am truly sorry for your loss. Regardless of what I think and say, I do understand that all of this is very, very…for a lack of a better word, let’s say upsetting. I have, unfortunately, become numb to most upsetting things by now, but I am still able to understand things.

        Stay strong. You have those who care about you, but you also need to keep being there for others. I don’t know you that well, but I can tell that you make a big, impactful, positive difference in the lives that you are a part of. Try to keep going being at your best, because all of the hard work, even the sorrow and loss along the way, will continue to pay off and make this world a better place to live in.

        Like

  5. Such a positive post! Very inspirational, I think I need to start making some gratitude posts every now and then too, it can really lift your mood thinking about and acknowledging the good things in our lives. xx

    Like

    • I’m glad you found it inspirational πŸ™‚ There are occasions when relentless positivity is not authentic and not validating, but overall, taking a while to stop and list the positives is a good thing. Be well! XX DB

      Like

      • Oh I agree! I sometimes get a little bit annoyed when people tell me ‘you’ve got to fake it till you make it’ I’ve done that for years and all it’s done is build me a bigger hole and gotten me nowhere, I’ve finally learned I need to face the shit going on for me instead of trying to cover it up with a smile… It definitely helps to stop every now and then and acknowledge the positives and there are times ‘faking it’ is appropriate and helpful, but as you said relentless positivity is not authentic or validating and can really bring you down. xx

        Like

      • It’s all about balance, isn’t it? Right now, I just want to go balance myself in bed for a while … or maybe propped up in front of the TV! Feel like running up a white flag: “I surrender, life. I just give in. Go away.” πŸ™‚

        Like

So, what do you think?

