It’s a new dawn … and I don’t have Monday-itis

So, as I type this, the clock has just ticked over 0700 on a Monday morning. Β A new day has dawned, a new Monday is upon us, and as good old Nina sings – “It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, and I’m feeling good”:

Well, I’m feeling moderately good πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t go overboard. I’m still feeling quite under the weather with these damned infections, but received some good advice about relieving symptoms yesterday (nasal decongestant + gently popping ears helps alleviate the pain – emphasis on the gently!) so despite still being a little wobbly on my legs, I’m far better off than this time last week.

I have a case of the Monday morning optimisms. I understand this is not a usual reaction to a Monday morning, but there you have it: I have my To Do list of things to focus on this week, broken down into therbligs; I have a nicely balanced diary – at least, I do for now, until messy old life comes in and wreaks havoc; I have some pleasant experiences to look forward to in coming days; my anxieties are off playing hide-and-seek elsewhere in my mind. Hope they’re having such a good time they’ll forget to come back.

For a depressed person, this is pretty jolly good: optimism, purpose, balance – now if I can just get my physical health back on track, everything would be great!

What ingredients would make you think you were heading into a good week? Or is Monday morning always anathema to you? πŸ™‚

 

20 Comments

Filed under Up

20 responses to “It’s a new dawn … and I don’t have Monday-itis

  1. Optimism is good.
    However it is Monday and that means I have to go to work. Ugh.

    Like

  2. I dont often remember what day of the week it is because i’m off work, however, i think a recipe for a good week is if i have a good plan in my head, and day by day it all goes to plan.
    Glad to hear you’re not so down πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Yay!! Positivity, hold onto it. I love that feeling, and want to tell everyone about it, just to prove I’m not always miserable!! I’m still in Sunday evening, but feeling cautiously optimistic about the week ahead. Work is going really well at the moment and I’m very motivated with it. Also, my studies are ahead of schedule which always makes me happy πŸ™‚

    Like

    • You legend!!!!!
      Yes, indeed, it’s just so important to grab these positive times and etch them into as many aspects of memory as possible – emotional memory, cognitive memory, physical memory (i.e. remembering what this feels like) etc.
      Many best wishes for the week ahead!

      Like

  4. Well, it’s still Sunday afternoon here, so this could all change, but I’m feeling fairly optimistic as well. I’ve got some appointments and stuff to do this week, and a couple of bright spots on the job search (I think.) Even though we’ve gone back into a deep freeze, I’m determined to not let old man winter get me too down! Glad your ears are feeling better. I’ve had a few ear infections like that – they’re just awful.

    Like

  5. Oh yes and I love Nina Simone, too!

    Like

  6. Mondays are usually fairly positive for me. Seeing as I work in the food industry, it’s usually a “thank goodness THAT weekend is over!” Lol But, alas, here it is still Sunday and I still have the dreaded Sunday night shift to work. :/

    Like

  7. I loved this part: “…my anxieties are off playing hide-and-seek elsewhere in my mind. Hope they’re having such a good time they’ll forget to come back”. I hope my anxieties go play and leave me too. Hehehe
    I’m glad you are feeling optimistic. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  8. It’s Monday morning for me here in the Philippines, and I am too feeling a bit optimistic. Had a great night of sleep last night, so I think that is helping.

    Happy Blogging!

    Like

  9. Goodness do I hate Mondays. Usually if I sleep well the night before it’s not so bad having to get up early but Mondays are always an issue for me, especially in my job. I work with kids so they get the weekends off and every Monday that comes around they are all riled up from not having school, in a bad mood because they don’t have to go back, or gaining some type of sickness because they want to go home. As far as Mondays go for me though yesterday was one of the best ones I had in a while. No major problems, only the usual small hiccups.

    Like

So, what do you think?

