Depressed immune system: any pointers?

Depressed White Blood Cell

Depressed White Blood Cell

My immune system seems to be down, if you’ll forgive the pun! Seriously, it’s one thing after the other right now – outer ear infection, middle ear infection; and now a sore throat … and my ear’s getting sore again! We all know that being depressed makes being sick worse, and vice versa. This is a roundabout I’d happily get off.

So, this is what I’ve done so far:

  • upped my intake of fruit and veg
  • taken a multivitamin, just to be sure
  • taken a megadose of Vitamin C
  • eaten probiotic yoghurt twice a day this week
  • eaten garlicked food at lunchtime (sorry, my dear)
  • kept up my intake of water
  • partaken only of moderate exercise
  • had an afternoon nap, and plan to go to bed early tonight.

I’m out of ideas, and I don’t want to get sick yet again. Does anyone have further suggestions which might help? I’d be very grateful. (But don’t be offended if I take a while to reply – I might be catching some healing zzz’s!)

XX DB

28 Comments

Filed under Down

28 responses to “Depressed immune system: any pointers?

  1. You’re doing all the right things. It just takes time 😦
    The only thing I might add to the list is fresh air which you are probably doing anyway.
    Oh, and laughter. Probably the last thing you feel like doing but perhaps an afternoon of comedy might be on the cards.
    Take good care xx

    Like

  2. I wish I had a magical cure, I could do with one myself! Hehe. πŸ™‚
    Hope you feel better asap! x

    Like

  3. When I have depressive episodes, I always get sick. Usually migraines, stomachaches or colds. I find that sleep helps a lot and drinking lots of water. If each day you don’t feel incrementally better, I would see the doctor because I used to get chronic strep and it turned out it wasn’t my fault – I just had tonsils that were gynormous. Point being: if you’re not better in a week, I’d see a doctor but otherwise, patience is the key. And trust me, I know how annoying that answer is because I often ignore it myself. Take care!

    Like

  4. Yeah, see doc – don’t mess about with the ear stuff – you might have a serious infection. I know I never like taking antibiotics, but if you stay with the probiotics (yogurt or in pill form,) you should be ok. Get well soon!!!

    Like

    • Actually I finished a course of antibiotics for the middle ear infection on Friday – so to have it return on Saturday is a bit of a nuisance, and also a worry. I’m not long awake after a 10 hour sleep (yum) so hopefully my body did lots of healing during that time πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. polychromatic madam

    Have you heard of GAPS? It might help you. If you are up for it, mincing a couple of cloves of garlic at night and taking it like a pill before bed might benefit you. I think your digestive health is key.

    Like

  6. Do you have something like a health spa? Sometimes when I start to feel sick I go to this kind of spa/health/cure centre thing that has a thermal spa pool with warm water with minerals and such and some other things (like a kind of steam cabins, I have no idea how to call those things, it’s not a sauna but a bit different) that seem to have good influences on health.

    Two other things that I use in situations like that: soup with lots of mixed vegetables and certain types of tea (chamomile, and some mixed pine needle tea) . Hope you feel better soon.

    Like

    • Thanks! I think a health spa is off the menu at present, and anyway there are none quite like what you’re describing nearby, but I do love a good veggie soup and herbal tea. Guess what? I’ve never had pine needle tea! Something to look forward to. Are they your typical “Christmas tree” type pines, or another species, do you know? I have a sample of the former nearby πŸ™‚

      Like

      • It seems (but, I can not really ‘prove’ this and haven’t done the research) that pine needle tea helps with sore throats/infections around the respiratory system / lung issues. I started using it after I had some lung issues (causes of a pulmonary embolism in the past, somehow I’m more sensitive for infections now) and and old granny with knowledge of herbs and such abroad recommended it and that’s how I started to try it. I am not sure about the species, but I will try to figure that out (The packages are in a language I can not speak/read, so I will try to see if I can figure out which species are used for it and will let you know). It is not tea from a fancy tea-bag in a box from a factory, but really some package of dried needles and such together. (the eew thing about drinking the stuff is that sometimes you end up drinking the needle/leaves/whatever is in too πŸ˜‰ ).

        Like

      • That’s cool – I’m not averse to putting strange things into my teacup – quite the opposite, in fact! I’ll also do some googling this end. With any luck it is the species I have access to (not many pines around my neck of the woods) and I can get them straight from the tree, wash them, and into the pot they would go! πŸ™‚ I like that – being able to take things straight from the ground into your belly, so to speak.

        Like

      • I tried to figure out from the package but that doesn’t mention the exact species, it just says “Muguri Pin”which means something like pine prouts. I’ve been researching a bit and found a German article naming the species Pinus sylvestris L. The article says that the pine sprouts/Pini turiones consist fresh or dried 3-5 cm long sprouts and that they are collected in spring.

        Like

      • Oh thank you! I am very grateful. I hope you didn’t go too far out of your way! I appreciate your efforts. I’ve followed up with further research of my own. Pinus sylvestris or Scots Pine belongs to the subsection Pinus, and Pinus radiata (the most common species of pines here in Australia; brought with white settlers) or Monterey Pine belongs to a different subsection, Oocarpae. However, both belong to the same subgenus Pinus, which includes all yellow and hard pines. There are some varieties which are toxic, so I would need to check with an authoritative figure whether Pinus radiata is one of these … alternatively, I could just go out and buy some nettle tea! But I can be quite stubborn about these things once I decide to DIY πŸ™‚

        Like

  7. If you haven’t tried it already, I know for me a Neti – Pot helps with my sinus’s and allergies which might just give you some ear relief as well since everything is so connected.

    Like

  8. I know I’m a bit late because this was 4 days ago (and I hope you are feeling better by now) but when I’m sick and have tried all other avenues of healing I feel it is more mind over matter. I know being depressed can cause symptoms of sickness, sometimes some simple relaxing things you can treat yourself to will help to relieve your subconscious of some things suppressing your immune system. Like a hot bubble bath with some scented soaps or candles, taking the time to read a good book, sip on a nice hot cup of tea, etc. I’m a firm believer in aroma therapy, I don’t know if it’s just me but lavender scented candles really relax me. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks for the suggestion πŸ™‚ I don’t know that being depressed can cause an ear infection (i.e. a bacterial infection of the middle ear!) but i appreciate you dropping by and sharing your ideas.

      Like

      • Lol, the ear infection must be from something else, but some other symptoms maybe?? Anyways ate you feeling better??

        Like

      • Yes! I’m lucky to have a GP in the family who made a great suggestion – decongest my sinuses and then gently pop the ears. (What he actually said was “GENTLY pop the ears”, because he knows I can be a big gung-ho sometimes!) So that’s what I’ve been doing since Sunday, breathing in over a bowl of hot water and Vicks and then GENTLY trying to pop my ears, and it’s really helped with reducing the pain, even though I haven’t been able to fully “pop” the affected ear yet. Apparently doing this also allows fluid to drain away, which obviously aids in clearing the infection. Yay!

        Like

So, what do you think?

