Another rough day at the office

No, not my office, my therapist’s.

Let me run two statements past you:

  1. Gorblimey, the sediment’s really been stirred lately and all sorts of muck is floating up from my past to haunt me. It’s really painful, it leaves me feeling like shit, and … well, his office used to be like a haven, right? A safe place? At the moment it feels like a haunted house. Can’t wait for this to be past. It’s got to be done, I guess: this feels so crap it must be the “zone of proximal development”.
  2. My therapist and I are doing some great work together at the moment, really getting stuck into some troublesome events and issues from my past, and I have complete faith that the effort we’re putting in will be worth it in the long run.

Now, on a scale of 1 to 10, how congruent do you think those statements can be?

7 Comments

Filed under Out

7 responses to “Another rough day at the office

  1. Let me see now… 10?
    *Hugs xox

    Like

  2. 1 is the picture and 2 is the frame.

    Like

  3. Emotional Mind and Reasonable Mind, maybe?

    Like

  4. I loved Spaz’s analogous view of your 1 & 2. πŸ™‚
    As for how congruent… hmm… I’d have to say it depends on the skill of the therapist, as well as the connection therewith. If 1 and 2 doesn’t have congruency… then I’d say it’s not healthy.
    We have a great need to address our pasts… the things that have lead to our depression and its debilitating symptoms so we can learn from them. But if we DON’T learn from them, or come out from the digging and unearthing with a “wow, that makes sense now…” then it’s a total fail.

    There are time’s when we’re digging up the pain, and I just want to break down and cry. But, my therapists have always managed to leave me with thoughts and goals.

    I’m sorry if you’ve been having a rough few sessions though. ❀ Pull through!

    Like

    • Don’t worry, for me, the two statements are completely congruent: one’s just the rawer version of the other! But thank you for your kind best wishes. I know I’ll pull through and will emerge the better for it.

      Like

So, what do you think?

