Change of scene, change of mind

There are fires burning across south east Australia – one of my relatives had to implement her bushfire safety plan and move family to a safer location – and the weather’s hot, hot, hot.

Last night, the minimum reached where I live was 30 degrees Celsius (86 Fahrenheit). That’s a tad too warm to sleep through in the midst of a 40 degree (100 Fahrenheit) run of days, without any cooling, so the dearly beloved and I upped camp and went to stay in a little hotel near the beach.

Quite frankly, I would’ve been glad to go anywhere with aircon – but the wonderful man found us an absolute gem! We slept between crisp, clean sheets with icy air blowing over us, after taking a dip via private access to the beach. It was awesome.

Another wonderful thing was how refreshed we’ve felt ever since. It’s a thing I’ve found to be true over and over: if you change the place you are, y0u change the way you think. (Bit like “if you don’t like the way you’re feeling, change what your body’s doing.”) We both feel as though we’ve spent far longer away than just one night, and I had some realizations I’ll be taking to my therapy session tomorrow.

Well, now we’re back, I must go and drench my poor plants with both abundant water and abundant love. I trust they’ll forgive me for leaving them alone during this latest crisis. In the meantime, a cool breeze has sprung up, and while the change in wind direction hasn’t helped fire fighting efforts, it has made the place I live much cooler.

I know most of the people who read this blog are suffering through a horrible winter in the northern hemisphere. I am sorry to keep going on about the heat! I do feel for you, with grey skies and dangerous roads and the need to keep warm, however you can. I guess we can all take comfort that our world will keep turning and these dreadful seasons, at both extremes, will come to an end.

And I will continue to consider how my actions contribute to global warming …

 

7 Comments

Filed under Up

7 responses to “Change of scene, change of mind

  1. I was in Perth last year and air con was in my gratitude journal everyday 🙂

    Like

  2. eddieredvine

    Somewhere between my 2 jumpers and your bush-fires… there is a lovely, pleasant, day. I’ve just put my heating on full blast and I’m about to change locale to a warm bath! Xx

    Like

  3. It’s so much nicer and cooler today. I hope your relative’s house is okay.

    Like

    • Yes, it is heaps better today! It’s such a relief. Her house is fine, thankfully. I’m just glad she got out early; the fires got within a few km of her home, but she was sensible and didn’t play the hero.

      Like

  4. I forget how important it is to get a change of scene now and again. I work 6 days a week and have church obligations on Sunday. I don’t truly rest my mind nearly as much as I should. Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

    • No worries 🙂 I know what you mean; before I got very unwell last year, I was working seriously stupid hours – the dearly beloved and I hadn’t been away for ages. We took a two night break and it was wonderful. I mean, we did have a big fight – but it was “a fight we had to have” (paraphrasing a famous Australian politician who often talked about “the recession we had to have”!) and our relationship was much better for it.

      Like

So, what do you think?

