The Versatile Blogger Award

Great thanks to the generous and kind emberlyn who nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award.

Here are the rules:

  1. Display the Award logo on your blog.
  2. Announce your win with a post and thank the blogger that nominated you.
  3. Nominate 15 deserving bloggers with the award.
  4. Link your nominees in the post and let them know of their nomination with a comment on their blog.
  5. Post seven things about yourself.

Seven things about myself:

  1. I love trees. I really love trees: they mean a lot to me. They symbolize so much, with their roots deeply embedded in the dark earth, their strong trunks, and their leaves wafting aloft in the air. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve felt better around trees. Trees are good.
  2. I’m in a pretty crap place in my life right now, but that doesn’t tell my whole story. I have already done some pretty diverse and outlandish things in my life, and since I’m less than halfway through it (barring calamities) I trust I’ll do some more.
  3. My drug of choice for escaping reality is trashy TV and, while I am very selective about precisely which trashy TV I binge on, I do so at an alarming rate … I am also very happy to ‘hate on’ other trashy TV which I think is, well, trash. My dearly beloved can’t see the difference, but then again, he’s got his own ways of escaping reality.
  4. I don’t drink alcohol. At all. This is problematic, being Australian, but there is it. You can’t just “not drink alcohol” in Australia: people assume there must be some reason why you can’t, for example, because you’re an alcoholic. Anyway, I’m the one raising the glass of sparkling water at weddings or sipping juice at the pub. There’s a part of me which wishes more Australians would do the same; I see alcohol consumption and gambling as two public health issues which have a major, and increasing, impact on our society.
  5. I write in different forums to achieve different things. My journal is a place to record things, as is my other, personal blog. This blog is a space to “[write] fearlessly and frequently humorously about living with mental illness” (thank you so much emberlyn for summarizing this blog in those words! You get me!). I also write both fiction and non-fiction for fun, and in the vague hope of one day hitting the publication jackpot. The writing I do here, though, has the greatest transformative power: it can help me stop myself spiralling downwards, or alter my thinking. I think that’s because there is a qualitative difference between writing for yourself and writing for an audience. The self-imposed anonymity helps, too 🙂
  6. One day I dream of living in a special house I’ve designed (in my imagination) especially for the dearly beloved and me. It has gardens and orchards, indoor hothouse spaces, writing rooms and music studios, and – of course – lots of trees.
  7. I’ve lived with depression and anxiety for a long time. I’ve been diagnosed with major depressive disorder and general anxiety disorder. I try to make these things a footnote to my life, but sometimes, unfortunately, that footnote becomes the main story.

Nominations: I got a bit overwhelmed when asked to nominate 15 other bloggers for this award. Thankfully emberlyn had researched the criteria and posted that nominators are advised to “consider the quality of the writing, the uniqueness of the subjects covered, the level of love displayed in the words on the virtual page. Or, of course, the quality of the photographs and the level of love displayed in the taking of them.”

Here are my nominations:

  1. Going Sideways: gavin8r is a real wordsmith who writes with clarity, honesty and authenticity about his life, which includes living with mental health issues
  2. Musings You Won’t Like: Amy’s writing, which includes musings on living with social anxiety disorder, often has me laughing
  3. Forlorn Hope: In this Diary of a Broken Heart, ‘Yours Truly’ writes about feelings and stuff. And yes, he’s a bloke
  4. The Idiot Economist: Because apparently even I can understand economics, which is pretty awesome
  5. Rocky Springs Rambles: Great pictures and great writing about living in rural Australia. Should be more of it!
  6. Journalling through Depression: Honest writing about living with depression from depressedbuthopeful
  7. Pedal Power 65: Not only for the writing but because I just love the idea of cycling your way to relief from depression!
  8. The War In My Brain: Megan has OCD, and speaks bravely about it
  9. Kiss Me Under the Pink Blossom Tree: I’m not a girlie-girl; I don’t usually do pink. But I’m willing to make an exception for Miss Popette
  10. NicoleParish1018: Mixing it up with writing, music and videos as she deals with depression
  11. I Thought It Was Just Me: Because I don’t think I’ll ever feel grown up, either
  12. Night Owl: Who opens my mind to new realms
  13. We Were Young Things: For baring/bearing the pain
  14. Ian Stewart Black: I don’t read much poetry, but I do read this
  15. Serendipity: Great writing. Highly recommended!

 

To all fifteen of you above – thank you for inspiring me with your blogs, and congratulations on your nomination.

2 Comments

Filed under Out

2 responses to “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. kissmeunderthepinkblossomtree

    Dear Dysthymia Bree,

    Thank you so much for choosing me as a nominee for this award, I am honoured! It is so lovely how bloggers all join together.

    I hope all is well in your world and I look forward to following your journey as you are mine.

    Best wishes,
    Miss Popette

    Like

    • Yes – I think it really is a lovely little community – I certainly feel connected to the bloggers I read, and those who are kind enough to read mine.

      All is well in my world this Friday afternoon, and I trust the same is true for you.

      Like

So, what do you think?

