The Hardest One: In a macabre way, this is my coming out party

A wonderful piece of writing.
“We have failed as a society to teach our young men that when a woman says “no,” it means just that. We have failed to teach them that a woman’s body is hers and hers alone, not solely a tool for a man’s pleasure that can easily be cast aside. We have failed to teach our young men respect and women’s empowerment and consequences when boundaries are broken. “

Still All Right

66435_10100135980660859_1038529046_n

I have decided to live my truth. It has taken me two years, countless drafts and a large dose of courage to debut the hardest story I have ever had to write. In a macabre way, this is my coming out party.

I wear a scarlet letter. The letter is “R” and it stands for rape. Six years ago I became a statistic when, at the age of 20, I was given the badge to wear. As young adults we’re often told to beware the man in the alley, the faceless perpetrator who will take away innocence and destroy lives. Unfortunately for me it did not happen this way. I knew my criminal; I would have called him a friend. And so I felt no fear the night that he and a group of other friends were invited back to my college apartment for a late night movie after having…

View original post 1,668 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

So, what do you think?

